Department News: 2010
James McDonnell, MD
James McDonnell, MD
did an extraordinary job with a riveting presentation at the Harold A. Stein Lectureship, Joint Commission on Allied Health Personnel in Ophthalmology (JCAHPO) Annual Continuing Education Program in Chicago, Sunday, October 17, 2010. The full to capacity audience learned from Dr. McDonnell's talk, both professionally and personally, and his lecture was the "topic-of-the-day" among attendees and also the JCAHPO staff.


Eleanore Charlotte AreauxEleanore Charlotte Areaux

Raymond Areaux, MD
Eleanore Charlotte Areaux

Born December 23, 2010 @ 1:23 AM
3.21 kg
Our miracle. Baby & mama doing beautifully!


Sean Patrick

Kathy Hughes
It's raining baby girls in the Hughes Family!
Colleen Erin Robertshaw
Born Nov. 4, 2010, 7lbs 9 oz, 20"
Paige Katherine Hughes
Born Nov. 13, 2010, 5lbs 0 oz, 17"

Charles S. Bouchard, MD
Congratulations on being selected as one of "America's Top Ophthalmologists!
And, Congratulations on being a recipient of this year’s Senior Achievement Award from the American Academy of Ophthalmology!

Walter Jay, MD
Faculty Member of the Year, Loyola University Chicago.

Dr. Jay is honored to be included in the upcoming 2011 Edition of Who’s Who in America, which is scheduled for publication in October 2010.

Loyola’s Faculty Council, which is Loyola’s highest elected faculty body representing more than 2,000 faculty at the Lake Shore, Medical Center, and Water Tower campuses, has elected Walter Jay, MD, Vice President & Vice Chair of Executive Committee for the 2010-11 academic year.

Michelle Class
Michelle and Roberto Class were blessed with their beautiful son Lucas Roberto Class who was born Tuesday, June 8, 2010, weighing 8 lb 13 oz and 22 inches long. Michaela is the proud “big sister.” Mother and baby are doing well.

Carol Braxton, BS, MS, Practice Director, Ophthalmology
Was a Nominee for the 2010 Loyola’s Spirit of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Award. Loyola’s Spirit of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Award is presented annually at the LUHS Tribute to Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. This award honors a LUHS/LUMC/SSOM faculty member, staff member, physician, student or affiliate who demonstrates on a consistent basis peace and goodness, inspirational service to and respect for others.

[ view PowerPoint Photo File ]